Tips for a newbie!

I'm pretty new at Don't Starve, although i have played similar games like Minecraft and what my problem is that i can easily handle my hunger and my health, but i always die at around day 4-9 because of sanity loss and only sanity loss. No problems with health and hunger whatsoever. So, any tips and tricks to further enhance my gameplay?

Picking flowers restores a little bit of sanity, pick 12 and you can make a flower hat that restores sanity while you wear it. Flowers spread slowly (faster in the spring) but not if you pick them all.

Cooked green mushrooms restore a decent amount of sanity. They only pop up during dusk, with birch & pine woods being the best place to find them.

Make a crock pot. The food it makes is better than the ingredients you put in, and restores a bit of sanity (some of them restore a good amount).

Some clothing restores sanity while you wear it, like the top hat & dapper vest.

Inventing new things restores a decent amount of sanity.

In terms of surviving the first few days/year, garlands are great to start with and it's best to move to top hats asap after.

In relation to the garland, if you build a net, you can catch butterflies. "Planting" a butterfly will generate a flower. Picking flowers is a decent way to get sanity early on, so build up a nice garden (and keep fire away from it).

As soon as you have a decent food income, get yourself a crockpot and drying racks. Jerky (non-monster) is very good to restore sanity (same as cooked green mushroom) and lasts a long while. Different recipes have different sanity-boosting qualities so see what you can make. In general, sweet food restores the most, and most sweet food requires honey (do not ever use a honeycomb in a recipe). You can make a priority out of killing bees or building bee boxes (this requires an aforementioned honeycomb and those are a finit resource).