[Scripting] Check if position is valid for building

What I'm trying to do:

-Make a mod that plants things in a grid formation

What I'm missing:

-A function to check if a certain position is valid for building

-A function to get the proper spacing in between different objects (i.e. a bush has a larger 'footprint' compared to a sapling)

Uploaded is what I've got in the prefab so far. 

I'm new to modding and programming in general so I appreciate the help! Thanks ahead of time.

sapling_cluster.lua

I thought architectural geometry did this already? You could just install that mod

From my understanding, architectural geometry snaps to grid when building. This is great but a problem my friend and I ran into was accidentally clicking on an unbuildable part and having to grab the item from the inventory to plant again. This isn't a big deal when planting one or two things, but in DST, we're playing together and trying to get farms setup to sustain multiple people's crazy rampage of setting traps everywhere for giggles.

But what I'm trying to do is make it so you click once and it builds a grid of things.

For a point of reference:

THIS is how the architectural geometry works correct?

and

THIS is what I'm building.

Well pants, ran into a slight problem due to my implementation. Currently I'm spawning objects into the world after "building" from the recipe. 

Example code:

local name = "sapling"local offset = "dug_"..name.components.deployable.min_spacing...local plant = SpawnPrefab("dug_"..name)if plant.CanDeploy(pt)   --dostuffend

It'll give a nil value for the min_spacing bit and an "attempt to call field 'CanDeploy' (a nil value)" for the CanDeploy bit.

Since the object the player is holding is not the object that's being planted (it's a buildable thing like a beebox) is there a way to get the min_spacing of an object like a berrybush within the prefab? If so, what's the proper syntax for something like that?