Adding behaviors to creatures in DST

Hello, everyone. I've been poking around a bit, and I'm interested in taking a stab at making a mod for DST that adds or modifies some of the behavior for creatures (like making a Pigman hide in his house if a certain character comes near), but I'm not really sure  how I can implement this. I've looked at a mod I liked that did have some custom behaviors, but the author implemented them by copying the original Lua files wholesale and writing their code into them, which doesn't seem like a good idea at all.

So my question is this: how can I add behaviors to creatures in DST in a clean way, so it won't break every update? Additionally, would it be possible to only run functions for certain characters (e.g. spoken lines from some creatures that only players using a specific character can see)?

I should probably mention that I'm new to DST modding, and Lua in general, but I've been looking around and reading the guides I could find for modding, as well as looking in some of the game's scripts.

• Developer

To do this you could override the brain's OnStart function, then call the original and modify the returned Behaviour Tree before returning it back up.

PigBrain._OnStart = PigBrain.OnStartPigBrain.OnStart = function()    local your_node = --add your behaviour node here    local bt = PigBrain:_OnStart()    table.insert(bt.root.children, your_node )end

I haven't tried this though, so there may be some issues that I'm overlooking.

Is it really that simple? I didn't realize the brains work like a binary tree (if I'm understanding this right). And this will just take the original behavior and insert my node into it at runtime?