Reviving Friends is too difficult at the beginning

My buddy and I started playing and I died at day 6 when the hounds came.  There aren't any spiders around for a LONG way, and no easy way to get meat, either.   Maybe that's just a bad spawn area, but I've been dead for 10 days now while my buddy builds up enough to create new camps and discover a forest with spiders.

It's really, really, not at all fun to sit at camp for days on end while everyone else is just trying to get you back to life and needs a lot of time to do so because it's at the beginning of the game.   Double that if you're hosting the server because you can't log out and go do something else.

So my feedback would be to allow the Jury-Rigged Portal to revive you for free within the first 25 days.  Maybe it would be different if I had 5 other friends, but with just one other friend, the game isn't fun for him either because I'm just sitting at camp waiting -- so we're not even playing Don't Starve Together -- he's playing Don't Starve -- and I'm browsing the internet.

Endless mode, the portal revives for the entire game.

Otherwise, honestly, this game isn't meant to be super easy. Maybe you just had bad luck and couldn't find a spider, but I've had no problems with this. Your friend could have instead just hunted for spiders instead of building a camp. They don't only spawn in forests. And if you follow him, a haunted spider 100% drops a gland. You can do a lot more as a ghost than just sit around.

Most games I've played, random strangers can revive one person within a few days. It gets chaotic when people start dying more often, but one is not usually a problem.

You shouldn't have died at Day 6. In a normal game of Don't Starve, dying at Day 6 would instantly end the world (And rightfully so) because you have no means of revival. Dying that early deserves the punishment of not being able to revive for a while.