why people compare invisible inc to X. COM?

Also: there aren't many games like that anymore. XCOM is so far the best known for reviving the genre. Saying "its a bit like XCOM but with stealth" is less confusing, than a turn-based-tactical-stealth-espionage-thingy. Therefore: comparison to XCOM! 

I think it is more similar to XCOM than Shadowrun (latter being an RPG), though to be honest - I think it is clear where the inspiration came from but Klei managed to create something unique with InvInc.

Also I am new to Invisible Inc. but it does seem to be a tighter game than XCOM was (Firaxis XCOM that is... so many bad design decisions.)

exactly like shadowrun returns...

some reasons why game compared with x-com instead of shadowrun returns:

at first original X-COM was born in 1994, Shadowrun returns in 2013

at second, pre-EA Invisible inc. builds had elements of homebase management & researching, and original X-COM famous by it's homebases micromanagement and researchings part as much as it's combat style

another thing: if I'm not mistaken, at start of EA, when was featured world map for choosing missions instead of dungen-like series of floors, was said that idea of constantly moving jet was inspired by x-com (there player have globe with distress signals etc to choose from, and send there jets)

developers refferences to x-com also often was quoted in game's first press releases

People are comparing Invisible Inc. to X-COM, not to Shadow Run. You asked why, you were given the answer. It doesn't really matter if you agree with it or not, or that you have different association(s) in mind, because people who compare Invisible Inc. to X-COM don't, hence this topic.

nevermind, i am saying what i am saying bellow just so you can understand why i think so.

in shadow run returns you can even see shields at the exact same place where you see eyes in this game (cover) pointing toward the tile that provide the cover (like in this game) when you hover on 'em.