Controller Improvements

I recently started playing on xbox after many years of playing on PC.  While the game is truly better optimized for play on a PC, I really enjoy the experience of kicking back on my couch and the feel of a controller in my hand is much more comfortable than the keyboard and mouse set up I have.  That said, I think the controller mechanics could use some love.  

For example:

• Targeting  - I am constantly whacking my beefalo, walls, gates, etc.  Often this is because I am doing something in inventory but haven't hit the RT to open the inventory window.  I press X to get half and then punch a friendly in the game.  PC has Force Attack that I think could be easily added to the console experience to prevent my random stupidity :lol:
  • Equipment Switching - The fact that switching equipment is placed on the d-pad is nearly impossible to use on the xbox in the heat of the moment as it is natural for me to use my left hand to use the d-pad...the same hand that controls my movement in game.  So switching and moving at the same time is either super awkward, or downright impossible.  I imagine this is true for Sony and Nintendo controllers as well.  
  • Missing functionality - Zoom in/out in game.  I don't know if this is a physical limitation of the game on the xbox or a limitation of the controller buttons to allow for it, but I would love to be able to zoom in/out like you can on PC.  Sometimes you need the higher field of view for exploring.

The key here is not to replicate a cursor in the game and make this as simple as possible.  Even a small number of new options to interact would go a very long way.  Would love some feedback from other console players if this would be beneficial or if there are better ways to layout the controls. 

Suggestion
Button Current Base Shift
Left Analog Walk Walk  
Right Analog Inventory Selection Inventory Selection Use stick as base d-pad?