view players inventories from files in MyDediServer folder

Hello all,

I've been successfully running a dedicated server for a couple of years now -off and on. Unfortunately, as we all know, griefing is something we all have to deal with along with the enjoyment DST brings us. As a server administrator, I mostly have this under control, via the usual commands through the console or the server itself (c_save, c_rollback, net_kick/ban, dropallitems, powerwordkill, etc).

One more tool that would really help combat griefers is the ability to see their inventories for the case where they steal things. If I suspect someone is stealing valuable items, they generally can be caught provided they stick around to be searched/powerkilled by the console commands. It's the clever griefers that grab things and instantly leave that are difficult to deal with.

My question is: when this happens, is there anyway to tell which items they made off with from the files in the MyDediServer directory? If so , it would amount to simply spawning in what they took and calling it a day. Even better if there's a way to do this in-game.

Apologies if this has already been discussed at length. I did some good key word searches and nothing came up.

Many thanks in advance!

Ok , glad to hear this is within the realm of doable. Any chance  you can point me in the right direction of the files and/or locations I'd be looking for -assuming these aren't encrypted areas and this is not against the ToS or anything like that?

Linux: ~/.klei/DoNotStarveTogether/<your server>/<your cluster>/<your shard (master)> [somewhere here]

Windows: c:\Users\<your user>\Documents\.klei\DoNotStarveTogether\<your server>\<your cluster>\<your shard (master)> [somewhere here]