Jump to content

Can you recover erased worlds?


Recommended Posts

Just now, ArubaroBeefalo said:

i think the only way to recover is if you have a backup copy of that world before the regeneration

yeah, I have a copy in a different computer but its day 370, so I was wondering if I had another way to go around it

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I'm not sure how thorough the game is at deleting saves when you get rid of a world so I'd first check where your save files are located to see if there's any backups/saves there that you can recover from. If not I would assume you can use a third party program to recover any recently deleted files as long as your computer hasn't saved over them in the meantime. I can't recommend a program that's good for this but if you google "recover deleted files windows" the first option is a free download but I'd use it at your own risk and maybe google around a bit to see if there are trustworthy options. I don't remember much about restoring backups but if the world is completely gone it might be helpful to create a new world and then replace the overworld & caves (if you have them) data with your backups so all the pathways are intact for the save file, might not be necessary though.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

8 minutes ago, D7X said:

I'm not sure how thorough the game is at deleting saves when you get rid of a world so I'd first check where your save files are located to see if there's any backups/saves there that you can recover from. If not I would assume you can use a third party program to recover any recently deleted files as long as your computer hasn't saved over them in the meantime. I can't recommend a program that's good for this but if you google "recover deleted files windows" the first option is a free download but I'd use it at your own risk and maybe google around a bit to see if there are trustworthy options. I don't remember much about restoring backups but if the world is completely gone it might be helpful to create a new world and then replace the overworld & caves (if you have them) data with your backups so all the pathways are intact for the save file, might not be necessary though.

ill try that

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I erm...only read the title and the replies apparently so >_> my suggestion might be useless, if you died and the world regenerated it probably just saved over the old data and there's likely nothing to recover using a third party program. Worth a shot though? I take it there's no option to rollback to before the regeneration, I've never tested that.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Please be aware that the content of this thread may be outdated and no longer applicable.

×
×
  • Create New...