Can I have a little help?

I'm really new to Don't Starve, and even newer to this website, so please consider my stupidity for now ;)Don't Starve has been REALLY fun, with my experience so far; there's a ton of stuff to discover. I just never know where I'm going or what to do next..My highest day is the middle of day 5, because I had a lot of trouble finding something to eat. The things that looked like they held a lot of food killed me instantly, and everything else that was smaller just ran away. I survived on berries, carrots, petals, seeds, etc., but it didn't help completely replenish my food. I do know to cook food, and to not eat it spoiled, stuff like that. But I'm still dying D:The traps I built never got anything, is there a trick to it? Am I supposed to be placing it somewhere specific? I honestly do not know. I would really appreciate any form of help, and I thank you for taking time out of your day to read this. Thanks.-Puny

Looks like you're having trouble surviving!Try following these steps:1) Cook food when it is growing stale. It will increase its refreshness.2) Those small animals scurry away into their hole. Try attacking them in the direction they are running away.3) Make the Science Machine! You have to gather resources for one; building them is essential.3A) After building the Science Machine, you can craft weapons and other things that can help you survive.3B) You can build a fridge to slow the spoilage, but you have to build an advance version of the science machine; the Alchemy Engine.4) Put those traps near rabbit holes. Then you'll get some rabbits to eat!PS. Learn from your mistakes. It'll help you a lot.

Welcome to the forums!

You may find some of the 'newbie' threads contained in the megathread to be helpful generally.

My advice for your situation:

- Having trouble not starving? Concentrate on gathering meat and vegetables.

-- You can get lots of morsels (from rabbits) by following Snob's advice.