Step by Step for those who haven't played single player much.

I'm from the UK so sorry about my English (ba dum tish). Another forum guy (I don't remember his name) started a topic recently for new players, giving some helpful advice on how to play Don't Starve if you don't have much single player experience. It was an excellent post, so I thought I'd expand on it a bit in a step-by-step guide.

I'm by no means an expert, and from my post-count you can tell I rarely contribute to this forum. I do however, have a fair few hours clocked on DS single-player. Single-player allows a trial and error approach in your own personal world; DST is multiplayer, so I feel a little leg up is needed for new players to allow them to play effectively with other (possibly more experienced) players. I don't have much experience of DST, but I feel the changes from vanilla aren't too many that I can't give some advice. Please correct me if any of the mechanics have changed relating to my advice and I'm unaware of them.

I'll do my best to keep it tasteful: advice without too many spoilers.

Step 1: Talk to each other.

DST has a chat function; use it! Many players require alot of survival resources, going solo without communication will be a bit of a pain. This is more of a constant thing than a 'step 1', but the first thing to do will be to decide who's going in which direction, which brings me on to step 2...

Step 2: Explore.

"Ok we've started, let's set up our base!" said no experienced don't starve player ever. Your permanent base should be placed near to what you need most, especially in the early game (days 10-30/40). For this we need to explore and look for certain resources to put your base near(ish). It's OK to set up sometimes 10-15 days into a game; you can survive as a nomad for this amount of time fairly easily.