Solution to Lack of Incentive in Caves (Raiders)

Note: I realize Klei is done with content updates, in addition to having said that there wouldn't be any cave additions in RoG, but I'm curious to see what the community's perspective is on this

I believe I have found a solution to the caves being a greater risk than reward, in addition to the game becoming too easy in the later days. I introduce you to the raider mob type (no artwork because I'm not an artist).

Function

This mob would have a base spawned underground maybe once or twice a year. Once a base was spawned, a band of these Raiders (somewhat akin to the MacTusks) would periodically show up at your base attack you, demolish your structures, and loot your chests. They would grow in numbers the longer you refused to venture into the caves to destroy their base.

Mob Types

There would be two types of enemies to this mob, the Ring Leader and the Maraudars

Ring Leader: there would only be one type of enemy with each band of assailants. He would be a medium difficulty mob solely purposed to attack you.

• 500 hp
  • 25 damage
  • 4 Running Speed

Marauders: a few of these guys would show up with the ring leader. Rather than attack you, they would rush your structures and start knocking them down or open up your chests and steal the loot inside.

• 150 hp
  • 0 damage to player, but 3 strikes to knock down a structure or open a chest (attack period 4)
  • 5 Running Speed

Increasing Waves

After every 2-5 days of leaving the base intact underground, another band of Raiders would assault your base, but they would grow in numbers. There would always only be one Ring Leader, of course, but the destructive Marauders would gain one more member with each successive wave.

Finding the Base