Autocompiler - Unable to find python!

Hello!

I am very new to modding the game, so as suggested I started by editing an existing mod.
My goal was to exchange the existing art, which by reading up tutorials worked out fine so far.

Now I got stuck converting a very simple animation from a spriter project (.scml file) to the required .zip file.

As stated in several tutorials there is an "autocompiler" that will run and convert my project when the game is started. However there seems to be a problem with that.

When the game starts or the autocompiler is run manually the following errors pop up:

Spoiler

autocompiler_output.thumb.png.d4b336261e4d91299dafa2fcf017acd0.png

The first few errors seem to appear because of the ' in the folder structure... But since this is done by Steam, I suppose that other players and modders for whom the autocompiler works will have the same situation.

When I run the scml.exe manually only the "Unable to find python!" error occurs, which seems to be the culprit for my problem:

Spoiler

scml_output.thumb.png.b9ea51e536a6c82e433bacff2899b3f0.png

Even though I thought this to be a weird idea, I installed python for Windows and setup the PATH variable to recognize 'py' as well as 'python' as commands. That didn't help.

I'm currently out of ideas about how to proceed...
Did anyone else have this problem?
Neither Google nor a forum search resulted in anything useful.

System-Info:

Spoiler
  • Windows 10, 64-bit
  • DST and DST Mod Tools are installed via Steam
  • SteamLibrary on separate HDD ("I:\")

I'm greatful for any suggestions!
Thanks, bLind

EDIT 1:

I just tried this on my laptop, which runs the same OS and has the SteamLibrary on an external HDD.

The autocompiler exectued without errors. I don't know why...
I will update this post if I figure it out, maybe it can help someone else.

EDIT 2: