Can't Display Preview Image For Mod / Crashing When Enabled

Gathouria

So I'm just starting out on mods and trying to learn with a test example, but I'm having trouble with my preview image.

Current file setup:
- I have an empty modmain
- my modinfo follows the same structure I'm seeing on dontstarveapi
- I have a 512x512 image (a size I've believe I'm seeing other mods use) converted to TEX from a PNG using TEXCreator for my modicon.tex
- my modicon.xml is copied from dontstarveapi and double checked with current mods, with the reference to the .tex changed. I just made this in notepad.

The problem:
When I include the icon_atlas = "modicon.xml" line in my modinfo.lua and try to open the mods page on DS, the whole game crashes. Commenting out this line seems to let it work fine, though of course no image will show. Anyone know what's up?

Well heres a tip on making the tex file and xml file of modicon without the tool as its easier to do. Place the modicon png inside a images mod file, could be a character mod, a item mod or some sort of mod with images folder present. From there run the autocompiler from the game and move the tex and xml file back to the main directory. But if your not interested in that then for the tex tool (1.2.0) you'll need to use the texcreator (different from textool) and use the following settings: pixel format: DXT5 texture type: 1D, mipmap resize filter: default, uncheck generate mipmaps if it has a check . The old textool is a bit outdated and has a tendency to crash pretty often so heres the 1.2.0 version:

the old ones settings where: pixel format: DXT5 texture type: 2D, mipmap resize filter: default, uncheck generate mipmaps and pre-multiply alpha. Last note the old textool will need the mipmaps and pre-multiply alpha unchecked constantly when opening it up (hint crashes often). And heres a modicon.png if you don't have one.

modicon.png