[Solved] How to make a character take reduced damage from certain mobs?

I'm pretty new to mod characters, and while I've figured out how to do (most) of what I wanted on my own through searching, I can't seem to find the code (if there is one)  to make a character take reduced damage from specific mobs. I'd want this character to take 25% less damage from shadow monsters. Thanks in advance. n_n

Edited by SolarMisae

The mod above actually done by "health.abosrb". You can see how it works in Health:DoDelta function. But it is difficult to do tag filtering as the cause parameter can be a string. So, I suggest the following code, and it is server-only.

--TODO: customize these constants
--prefab name of your character
local CHARACTER_PREFAB = "wickerbottom"
--reduce 95% of the original damage
local DAMAGE_RESISTENCE = 0.95

AddComponentPostInit("combat",function(inst)
    if not GLOBAL.TheWorld.ismastersim then
        return
    end
    local oldbonusdamagefn = inst.bonusdamagefn
    inst.bonusdamagefn = function(attacker, target, damage, weapon)
        local bonus = 0
        if oldbonusdamagefn then
            bonus = oldbonusdamagefn(attacker, target, damage, weapon) or 0
        end
        -- things above are just for compatibility
        -- notice that shadow chesspieces has no "shadow" or "shadowcreature" tag
        if target.prefab == CHARACTER_PREFAB and (attacker:HasTag("shadow") or attacker:HasTag("shadowchesspiece")) then
            bonus = bonus - (damage + bonus) * DAMAGE_RESISTENCE
        end
        return bonus
    end
end)

First, thanks for the response! Any help is welcome and looking at the code helps understand it more. However, I keep crashing before character select. Image of crash screen included.