Advice for LAN?

Hey there,

I recently was playing DST LAN with a friend. He was the host, and I got my usual (for some reason) terrible connection to cause a lot of lag (rubberbanding, character moving without touching keyboard, etc.)

Since he is the host he doesn't get any lag, but could I minimize mine by connecting our laptops with a LAN cable/whatever its called? What would be the difference? I'm asking this because I wanna try getting one (could you imagine? A Together game without lag?!) So... sorry if I sound like a noob, I've never used these before haha.

Thanks in advance!

If you are already on the same network, and you're connected to a strong wifi signal, a cable won't make a difference. If the wifi signal is weak (it has to go through walls), a ethernet cable might help, but you would both need to use one to connect to the router for the best effect. Unless your wifi signal is really bad, you shouldn't be having these rubberrbanding problems. Do they happen on every server you join, or only lan servers?

8 hours ago, Snowhusky5 said:

If yn the same network, aconnecteflnd you a strong wifi signal, a cable won't make a difference. If the wifi signal is weak (it has to go through walls), a ethernet cable might help, but you would both need to use one to connect to the router for the best effect. Unless your wifi signal is really bad, you shouldn't be having these rubberrbanding problems. Do they happen on every server you join, or only lan servers?

Yeah, the wifi signal is very strong and we're both in the same room.

I do have this lag on any server I connect to, even if my ping to it is very low (Online or lan).