[Help Please?] Adding A New Component

I'm brand new to coding and I really want to wrap my head around this! I would really love a teacher or a peer to talk code with on a daily basis to start really getting into this. *_* I want to make full mod expansions once I get the hang of things.

But here's my immediate problem!

I'm trying to make a structure with a sanity boost that has a flat rate over a set radius. So no matter how close or far you are from it you will get the same boost, so long as you are in range.

I've achieved a functional custom structure with its own craft tab and a regular, distance-scaling sanity aura.

I see the code that scales sanity aura in the original components/sanity.lua file

local aura_delta = 0    local x, y, z = self.inst.Transform:GetWorldPosition()    local ents = TheSim:FindEntities(x, y, z, TUNING.SANITY_EFFECT_RANGE, nil, { "FX", "NOCLICK", "DECOR","INLIMBO" })    for i, v in ipairs(ents) do         if v.components.sanityaura ~= nil and v ~= self.inst then            local aura_val = v.components.sanityaura:GetAura(self.inst) / math.max(1, self.inst:GetDistanceSqToInst(v))            aura_delta = aura_delta + (aura_val < 0 and aura_val * self.neg_aura_mult or aura_val)        end    end
    self.rate = dapper_delta + moisture_delta + light_delta + aura_delta + ghost_delta

and then everything in components/sanityaura.lua and components/aura.lua.

And I see the values in the tuning table that state the values of each aura from tiny - huge, and SANITY_EFFECT_RANGE = 10.

But the code I included is the meat of what's adding that distance scaling.

So I was thinking I would create a nearly identical component and just call it "pureaura_delta", copy the lines for noticing objects near the player with auras, remove "/math.max..." from the value computation of aura_val (which will be "pureaura_val"), create a new tuning value for "pureaura" for my structure, and just tack "pureaura_delta" onto the things to be added to self.rate.