Finding items on the ground in a radius

Taryn

Hi guys! So I'm well on my way to finishing my first mod. I have the structure all made, and the art and animations working in game. The mod I'm working on is a Vacuum Chest, it checks the area around it for loot on the ground, and if it is not full /is able to add to a stack, picks up the loot automatically. It's chest functionality is all working as expected. 

Right now I'm working on the custom functionality of my structure. I know the basic logic that I need to implement to make this work. However, I'm new to the Don't Starve game files and I'm having difficulty where the functions I need are defined and so I can see their names, their parameters, etc. 

basically I need help finding existing game logic so that I can use it, and advice on the best method to accomplish this. I've been combing through components and prefabs for hours and I've helped myself a long a lot but now the going is slowing down, so a little help on this function would be appreciated! I'm going to continue working on it as I wait for replies to this thread

Here's the function at time of posting:

inst:DoPeriodicTask(0.5, function ()    	--print "Ran function"    	local SEARCH_RADIUS = 20    	local has_tags = {}    	local ignore_tags = {}    	--find entities    	local entities = TheSim:FindEntities(inst, SEARCH_RADIUS, has_tags, ignore_tags)    	--filter entities by those storable in inventory (by tags?)    	-- if invetory is full, ignore    	-- Else if can pick up, pick up object, store in inventory, play sound    	end)

So right now my question is: