Hardware cursor and hat abilties!

Firstly, hi to the Don't Starve community and devs! I'm a newbie but brimming with creative ideas (mostly thought up whilst in the shower, perhaps disturbingly) so wanted to share this and hopefully get a good response :)

1) Hardware cursor

I noticed while playing that there was one thing a little out of place, the cursor. Now this seems trivial but it would be really cool to have a cursor which fits the rest of the game style a lot better. Something simple would suffice, but a context-sensitive cursor would be even better - by that I mean one which changes depending on whether you're hovering over an aggressive enemy (attack cursor) or something you can gather (gathering cursor) etc. etc. you get the point!

2) Hat abilities!

Considering how the game is supposed to be about a mad scientist being thrown into a wilderness survival environment, I was actually surprised to find that there weren't really that many "crazy inventions" or gadgets to be able to build later on in the game. Perks as the player progresses for example, by that I mean things like minor speed boots or gathering speed increase etc. and I ended up thinking that it would be a great place to do this on the hats, as some of them already do provide a perk of some kind (i.e. protection from the Football hat). My ideas are as follows:

• Straw hat - Considering this is made from gathering cut grass and is available early on in the game, this hat could provide a perk when worn such as a slight increase in gathering speed for grass/twigs/berries. Not a lot, but enough to be noticeable and allow you to bring back just that bit extra when you go on a days' foraging trip.