Console Database?

Obviously I'm new to the game, still trying to survive more than 2 missions. In my first few playthroughs I have used Incognita to hack everything I find right when I find it. But then in some missions I run out of power for Incognita and end up having to make tough choices, or have to leave a safe locked. So my question is, what is the "Console Database" for, why do I want to spend my power hacking it, and once I've hacked it, how does it help me? Thanks.

It shows you all consoles on the map. If you interact with consoles you regain some power, more if you leveled hacking or have certain upgrades. Basically you sacrifice some power to learn where you can find more.

It can be useful if you need a big bunch of power quickly and don't want to explore the whole level, like if you have found the vault and elevator but don't have enough power to clear the security. Emp wouldn't help in that case since the lockers won't open. It still feels kinda weak, though that might be because I didn't really focus hacking. Maybe maxing it on one character might help.

Consoles are found throughout each mission, which you can tap into to gain power by having your agent move beside (or having Internationale get near). The Console database shows where they are all located. Honestly, I never end up hacking them, however the Camera databases I often hack (which as you would assume shows you the location of the cameras).

EDIT: Darn-it, fell just behind :p

For me the primary purpose of the database isn't acquiring power, but learning the map layout. Granted it's only useful if you find it early, but it can give you a lot of information about how the map is shaped.

I agree with this. I hack console databases early on to get some idea of map layout.