Requesting Help For Writing A Code

pwhampton

Almost done with this character of mine, but I have no idea how to go about creating her unique power. Basically if she does not have enough nightmare fuel to create an item then she will use 20 hunger to make up for any missing nightmare fuel needed to complete the recipe. If I do have the fuel, then it will use that up first before converting my hunger. Example: I have one living log in my inventory. So I create a nightmare sword with the 1 living log and loose 100 hunger since I had no nightmare fuel.

I think one way to try to get this working is to have it check the recipe I am using, compare the amount of fuel it needs to the amount in my inventory, and then attempt to have it fill in the missing fuel for 20 hunger each. (I am a bad programmer so I am just assuming here.)

Would this idea be even possible to pull off using the method described or a different approach? If so, what would I need to use to create a working code?

And thanks to anyone willing to assist me.

This would certainly be doable, but I would suggest a compromise. Instead of automatically draining 20 sanity per thingy, I would recommend you just have a character-unique recipe that creates 1 nightmare fuel for 20 hunger. This would be much less intrusive into the functions of the game, which means you won't have to worry about maintaining the code between updates.

If you're happy with that, I can contribute the code.

This would certainly be doable, but I would suggest a compromise. Instead of automatically draining 20 sanity per thingy, I would recommend you just have a character-unique recipe that creates 1 nightmare fuel for 20 hunger. This would be much less intrusive into the functions of the game, which means you won't have to worry about maintaining the code between updates.

If you're happy with that, I can contribute the code.