Worldgen and Exploration Questions

Intro

Since I started playing again only recently since a long hiatus I have a bit of trouble with getting used to exploration. The Worldgen has changed quite considerably it seems and I use this opportunity to also find out details that I never quite figured out anyways.

Also feel free to add any hints, clues and so on that help during exploration, bonus points if you have deeper knowledge of the worldgen mechanics or can point to them.

So again, the purpose of this is making exploration and finding stuff more efficient and reliable. And secondarily to kind of being able to assess the worldgen as in "this configuration is exceptional/valuable/unlucky" etc.

I'll be listing them roughly, not strictly, in order of exploration and add a few sentences to indicate what I roughly know.

Mosaic

Easy access to gold and general resrouces as well as gems/gears/trinkets from graves. Players typically seek this out early.

Luckily this biome is almost always (or strictly always?) close to the Florid Postern, so after making a tight circle while getting those 2x flint and other starting resources it is usually found during the first day.

Haunted Forest

To quickly get alchemy engine resources and pig skins for helmets as well as some meat and silk. Sometimes there is a clearing, where a bunch of Mandrakes spawn. Also this is where Totally Normal Trees are found, typically surrounded by a few evil flowers. The Moonstone also seems to spawn in these.

This is typically easy to find as there are several of these biomes.

Pig King Decidious Forest

Great early game foods, good way to get alchemy engine and helmet materials, Pan Flute for bosses and Glommer for farming. Later on you visit this after stacking up trinkets or Frazzled Wires.

Easy to find since it is always connected to a cobblestone road.

Marshes