Need help understanding how to load code on client/server specifically (Solved)

So I am still fairly new to DST modding but one thing that keeps alluding me is a understanding of how the game decides to load code on the client, server, or both. I recently started a new project where this has finally become a roadblock. I am making a character with the ability to slow down time, in the prefab file I have the code near the top which slows down the simulation speed (Using "TheSim:SetTimeScale(x)") which works fine without caves, but when caves are enabled I have noticed it seems to only slow down the server speed while leaving the client expecting the usual speed which leads to some really bad desync issues.

Could someone explain to me what parts in a mod files are loaded on the client and which are loaded on the server and why and/or how to tell the game to specifically run code on the client and server?

@thomas4846 Yes, but it can cause network issues and disconnections.

@poolcool2 It depends on the settings you have for the mod. If its a client mod, it only runs on the client and cannot do anything on the server.
If it's a server mod, it only runs on the server.
If it is marked as all clients needing it, it runs on all clients and the server.
From that point, it's up to you what you do.

And worlds with caves have multiple servers (1 server runs the surface, other runs the caves), so your call to slow down the server would only happen on the server with the character.

Edited by penguin0616
  • Like 1

40 minutes ago, penguin0616 said:

@poolcool2 It depends on the settings you have for the mod. If its a client mod, it only runs on the client and cannot do anything on the server.
If it's a server mod, it only runs on the server.
If it is marked as all clients needing it, it runs on all clients and the server.
From that point, it's up to you what you do.