Help changing a characters build

Hello everyone, first off I'm a complete newbie when it comes to modding. I've been poking around most of the day on the forums and experimenting in notepad ++

It is slow going though and I feel like there's a few things I don't know how to figure out but maybe if I did things would fall into place better.

My goal at present is to make one character load as another, I think similar to what this thread is about but its old maybe outdated and I'm not even sure if it was ultimately solved. Just like the OP in the old thread I'd like to mimic their idea so I'd still be able to use skins.

Basically I'd like to make a female version of Walter, I think to start I'd like to use Wendy's skin for this though and eventually try my hand at making my own artwork. It is for my wife, she is not a fan of playing male characters and I've wanted to try my hand at modding before. Seems like they were making progress on the old thread

I was hopeful a lot of it would just be a simple cut and paste job but either its not or I'm looking in the wrong places, there's things that are eluding me that I can't find. I can't seem to figure out where a characters starting items are listed nor how to make a different character able to use a character restricted item (whether that be by removing the restriction entirely or adding them or defining them as the restricted character...if that makes sense).

I feel like I could spend a week looking around and eventually figure it out but if there's some easy answers to some of my issues then that'd be awesome :D

Thanks in advance for all replies, happy gaming and modding :)

• Big Ups 1