Cascade control for valves, plate heat exchangers, and knock out pots

I'm no chemical engineer, but I work in the oil and gas industry. I am very impressed by some of the creative ways people have overcome some of the challenges presented in the game, mainly when it comes to dealing with temperature. 

I would really like to see what people can do if given some more additional tools, such as Cascade control for valves, or a simplified version where the valve works as a block valve. So like the current valve, but you can set two parameters

1. You determine if the valve fails close or fails open. Which means that, when the valve loses power, it either slams closed (fails close) or fully opens (fails open. 

2. When the valve is powered, what opening %, or what flow it would move to.

This is is a poor man's PAID control I suppose. It would make keeping an exact setpoint difficult, but it should prevent situations where the temperature drifts from the setpoint because the gradient is off. 

Without getting to technical, a plate exchanger is a more efficient (thermally speaking) version of the tube exchanger, which is sort of what most people use in ONI right now, although with one fixed/batch medium. Right now heat transfer across the pipe seems very low, even when using wolframite, and you have to dedicate a pretty large area to get some decent cooling going on.

The knock out pot is something that removes liquid from a gas line. I the industry we use it in the steam line so that water doesn't goes into a part of the steam distribution system where it would pool and reduce heat transfer and cause corrosion eventually. In ONI I would be like a gas filter, but you can only select if the middle output is gas or liquid, and the other output would be the the one that you didn't chose for the middle one.

That's my two cents, I would be interested in knowing what you guys think.

All your ideas are great would add fail lock for mechanised airlock.