Specific heat capacity of some elements is way off

llunak
  • Branch: Preview Branch Version: Linux Pending

EDIT: Ok, I was curious and dug up a bit more (I'm a software developer with electrotechnical education, so I have a little clue, but I'm not an expert). And apparently this heat stuff is way too complicated for the way ONI works (https://www.khanacademy.org/science/chemistry/states-of-matter-and-intermolecular-forces/states-of-matter/v/specific-heat-heat-of-fusion-and-vaporization was very educational and I doubt ONI implements that). So let's just reduce this whole thing to "I think the heat capacity of polluter water should be the same as water, otherwise it heat/cools surroundings way too much" and "water sieve shouldn't have fixed temperature output, because it complicates life for beginners and experienced players will find a way anyway if wanted (e.g. pincha peppernuts, it turns out, are actually a massive heat sink)".

It has come up during the discussion in the topic below that some in-game elements have broken heat capacity.

The specific example there is (clean) water vs polluted water, where water has about 4 J/g/K while polluted water has about 6 J/g/K. This means that water sieve with its fixed temperature output actually cools things down, even if the input temperature is lower - with these values, the input should be polluted ice for the output to be 40C for energy conservation to take place, and 30C polluted water should make water sieve output steam. This also means that since showers and sinks only convert clean water to polluted water, they technically add huge amounts of heat.

I checked using some sources as such https://www.engineeringtoolbox.com/specific-heat-capacity-d_391.html and it seems many elements are correct (or reasonably close), so it seems like you've actually tried to make the game use the correct values.