Custom item problems

Hey I made a character mod with a starting mod item it's working kind fine but if I equip the item it looks like my character is holding the air.

It doesn't appear on the hand neither the ground when I drop it but it doe's damage. I have checked the scripts but because I'm a noob at modding I can't figure out in which script is the problem. Any ideas?

P.S. Another question. Can I add sanity loss when the character sees/it's close to a specific thing?

Alice.rar

Edited by MarilouXD

Attach a .zip of your mod, it will probably help. Also, explain how you created your item, because the problem could be very dependant of the method used.

About the sanity loss :

local function sanityfn(inst)
	local x, y, z = inst.Transform:GetWorldPosition()
	local ents = TheSim:FindEntities(x, y, z, TUNING.SANITY_EFFECT_RANGE, {"mole"})
	local delta = 0
	for k, v in pairs(ents) do
		local distsq = math.max(inst:GetDistanceSqToInst(v), 1)
		delta = delta - TUNING.SANITYAURA_SMALL / distsq
	end
	return delta
end

and

inst.components.sanity.custom_rate_fn = sanityfn

This goes in your character.lua file. The first part as a function, the second part in the master_postinit.

Replace "mole" by whatever the prefab you want is.

1 hour ago, Lumina said:

Attach a .zip of your mod, it will probably help. Also, explain how you created your item, because the problem could be very dependant of the method used.

About the sanity loss :

local function sanityfn(inst)
	local x, y, z = inst.Transform:GetWorldPosition()
	local ents = TheSim:FindEntities(x, y, z, TUNING.SANITY_EFFECT_RANGE, {"mole"})
	local delta = 0
	for k, v in pairs(ents) do
		local distsq = math.max(inst:GetDistanceSqToInst(v), 1)
		delta = delta - TUNING.SANITYAURA_SMALL / distsq
	end
	return delta
end

and

inst.components.sanity.custom_rate_fn = sanityfn

This goes in your character.lua file. The first part as a function, the second part in the master_postinit.