... Cool?

I'm still a bit new to the oil refinement thing, having been experimenting with a plethora of different concepts since I started playing. A while back I identified the importance of temperature control in the production areas, and nowadays I seek out cold biomes before building even my first power plant! The Snow and Ice get packed into a Water storage tank where it's portioned out to little 100Kg bins for steady melting. This is a steady source of liquid Water, and as a bonus, the whole tank gets colder as time goes by.

It only seemed a natural fit to use one of these cold Water tanks as the site of a Thermo Aquatuner, since running one of those things in a gaseous atmosphere very quickly leads to it overheating. I figured I could use it to cool off some amount of Crude Oil before the Water got too hot to sustain any further processing. My setup is as follows:

Crudecicle.thumb.png.9946a74eb19629f639dc7f8736c53710.png

As you can see, the space I allocated for the Crude Oil storage is completely full, since this strategy worked way better than I was hoping it would. In fact, it worked so much better that I'm a little confused as to exactly why...

When I pulled up the Crude Oil, it was around 80 degrees. The tank of Water was sitting at about 5. By volume, the Water occupies a little over twice as much space as the Crude Oil, but the latter is slightly less dense: it evens out at about 875 Kg/tile, whereas Water prefers about 1000 Kg/tile. When the screenshot was taken, the Crude Oil was cooled down to about 15 degrees, but the water was sitting at a chilly 12.