Help with health drain code?

Hi, I'm trying to make a character mod with a character who transforms. I've figured out how to set the character to transform while having 0 sanity (thanks to the forums here), and I would like to enact a health drain effect on her while she is transformed. However, I can't quite figure it out, and I can't find any examples to follow here. Any help is greatly appreciated! Here is my code. Right now it just kills me upon transforming.

local function becomesabirust(inst)
        inst.rust = true
        inst.AnimState:SetBuild("sabirust")
        inst.Transform:SetScale(1, 1, 1)
         inst.components.combat.damagemultiplier = 2.5
        inst.components.health:SetAbsorptionAmount(0.5)
        inst:AddTag("monster")
        if inst.components.health.currenthealth > 1 then
        inst.components.health:DoDelta(-1 * inst.components.health.currenthealth)
        end
end

I'm not very experienced myself in the ways of coding myself, but I think I know why your character is dying from simply transforming.
From what I can read, this is the problem:

To me, that's read as "If the character's HP is above 1, then take ALL of their health." This is probably why your Rust Mode is killing you upon activation.

As for actually applying a health drain, there's a character mod in the Steam Workshop for Archer from Fate/Stay Night who has that health drain you're looking for.  (The coding for that is in the character's prefab script. (archer.lua))

http://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=544637010

I'm not sure how to make it so it deactivates upon going back to normal, though... (If that's necessary)
I hope this helps at least a bit until someone with more experience comes along!

On a side note, I'm guessing you're making a Sabitsuki/Rust mod? (Used to play .flow and a lot of others way back)

18 minutes ago, K-KyoruMii said: