Need Help, Character/Item modding, new to coding

Thank you all for taking the time to read this.

Me and my wife have taken up creating our own characters recently (she does the art, I do the coding).  I'm not experienced by any means, I have almost zero experience doing anything like this,  but I can read code and kind of make sense of what is going on and have been picking through other mods learning some things as I go.

Here are some things I haven't been able to work out on my own yet, and I'm hoping someone out there can help me.

1.  Trigger instant insanity (sanity = 0) when a mandrake is killed near her.

-I tried this one for a little but I felt like there might be a simple command out there to make this work

2.  She has a custom mandrake bush-hat.  I'm looking to trigger an invincible state while she is hidden, aka "planted".  However,  I'm worried about being able to abuse invincibility in combat.  The normal "hide" state doesn't stop Charlie or Hounds, and I'm trying to make this like an AFK-type mode, without someone being able to spam-hide to avoid damage (maybe something like a timer before triggering invincible state)

3. Following along the same line as #2, while I was working on the hat I started adding the tags like "equippable", "waterproofer", "insulator", etc.  I was trying to make it where if I couldn't become "invincible", I could at least counter-act anything harmful that might occur during these "AFK periods".

I ended up with a code that looked like this:

onuse

Spoiler

local function mandrakebush_onuse(inst)
        local owner = inst.components.inventoryitem.owner
        if owner then
            if TheWorld.state.israining then
            owner.sg:GoToState("hide")
            inst.components.waterproofer:SetEffectiveness(TUNING.WATERPROOFNESS_HUGE)
            inst.components.equippable:IsInsulated()
            inst.components.healer.health = TUNING.HEALING_MED