Help with Nightvision and Fast Walk coding

Hi all,

Apparently I'm trying to make a character that can survive in the darkness, and I saw a few other modders having night vision. I thought that I could give it a go but do not know where to begin. Walking Fast for my character is just to boost him when collecting materials, as when winter comes, it is difficult to gather materials alrealdy. I hope someone can help me in this as it is my first time doing it ><.

To change his walkspeed you can go into: dont_starve/mods/yourmod/scripts/prefabs/yourcharacter.lua

In that .lua you can find:

inst.components.locomotor.walkspeed = 4

inst.components.locomotor.runspeed = 6

These are the defaults for walk and run speeds. I am pretty sure walkspeed is the character's normal speed and runspeed is their speed with speed-affecting items (such as walking cane, aerodynamic hat, coffee, etc) So say you change the walkspeed to 10 (which is pretty fast) It would be a good idea to change the runspeed to +25% of the walkspeed. So if the walkspeed was 10, the runspeed would be 12.5. (10+2.5) If anyone could correct me if I am wrong about runspeed, that would be much appreciated.

As for the nightvision, add this to dont_starve/mods/yourmod/scripts/prefabs/yourcharacter.lua in the local fn: (with the hunger, sanity and health setting)

inst.entity:AddLight()
    inst.Light:SetRadius(20)
    inst.Light:SetFalloff(.5)
    inst.Light:SetIntensity(.5)
    inst.Light:SetColour(128/255,80/255,0/255)
    inst.Light:Enable(true)
    GetWorld().components.colourcubemanager:SetOverrideColourCube("images/colour_cubes/beaver_vision_cc.tex")

You can twiddle with the numbers to change the light around.

This will give your character "nightvision" (well it's actually a glowing light, but shh)

15 hours ago, NeddoFreddo said:

To change his walkspeed you can go into: dont_starve/mods/yourmod/scripts/prefabs/yourcharacter.lua

In that .lua you can find:

inst.components.locomotor.walkspeed = 4