Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Please be aware that the content of this thread may be outdated and no longer applicable.

NAZJACKSON

About snapshot functions of dedicated server

Recommended Posts

Hello,

 

I really need your guidance and helps about dedicated server snapshots..

 

I mean, i've already seen the wiki's guide suggested as:

 

Quote

 

 

Snapshots allow you to full roll back a server to an older state.  This feature is pretty new and has been observed to cause problems on some servers.  I have been disabling this on most of my servers right now.

 

from http://dont-starve-g...dicated_Servers

 

 

But the guide only indicates that there is only an option to turn the snapshot function on and off, but not how to use it correctly.

 

So can you guys explain me how to use the snapshots?

 

Maybe I should use them from the Document/Klei/configurationdir/save manually..

 

But don't know how to exactly..

 

Thanks

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Shouldn't you post this here?

 

 

I thought the issue about snapshot for dedicated server could be a feedback since there was not a single guideline to manage it.

 

 

@NAZJACKSON, I might be mistaken, but I don't think there is a way to access the snapshots on dedicated servers yet.

 

Some clever guy tipped me that there is 'snapshot' folder in save/session/******/ in the configuration directory.

 

 So I found the snapshot files and copy those 'session' and 'survival_1' to the server/save/ location.

 

The rollback seems like successful.

 

But there was a problem. 

 

Once after I played  a bit, I turned off the server and on again, then I found my character was in the same location and had still same items as the rollback.

 

After restarting several times, sometimes server saves my location and items correctly but sometimes doesn't. and the time and minimap saves seem like working tho. I can't find what is wrong with this.

 

I'm using steam GUI version of DST dedicated server and i put 'conf_dir' options to the dedicated server tool and the game itself differently.

 

Any other suggestions?

Link to comment
Share on other sites