I want to make a "hunger shield" for a character. How can I do that?

jimmosio

Let's say I want my character to passively absorb an amount of damage taken (let's say 25%) and deal the absorbed damage to the hunger bar.

Here's an example:

A source attacks my character for 40 base damage.

My character loses 30 Health and 10 Hunger.

Since Night Armor has a similar effect I don't think it should be too hard, but I have no experience in LUA, so I'm asking for help.

Any ideas on how to code it?

Let's say I want my character to passively absorb an amount of damage taken (let's say 25%) and deal the absorbed damage to the hunger bar.

Here's an example:

A source attacks my character for 40 base damage.

My character loses 30 Health and 10 Hunger.

Since Night Armor has a similar effect I don't think it should be too hard, but I have no experience in LUA, so I'm asking for help.

Any ideas on how to code it?

First of all, a really good strategy for doing things like this is looking at the game code such as the nightmare sword prefab.

But, I'll get to the point.

This is some code I modified from batbat.lua to drain hunger when damage is taken.

local function OnTakeDamage(inst, damage_amount, absorbed, leftover)    local owner = inst.components.inventoryitem.owner    if owner then        local hunger = owner.components.hunger        if hunger then            local drainage = damage_amount/10 * TUNING.HUNGER_DRAIN            hunger:DoDelta(-drainage, false)        end    endend

First of all, OnTakeDamage is a function called in any armor prefab when damage is taken.

But just pasting this code in your custom armor prefab won't help.

you must call the function "OnTakeDamage" using a component like below:

inst.components.armor.ontakedamage = OnTakeDamage

(this must be pasted in the prefab file for the item AFTER and BELOW the above function)

"local drainage" is a variable that takes the amount of damage you take in-game and runs it through a little equation: