What is a dirty something?

Hello! I'm new to modding and I have some questions:

1) In layman's terms, what is a dirty variable/function/anything?

2) What is the main difference in purposes between player_common and player_classified?

3) Which prefab AddPlayerPostInit targets?

4) What does AddPrefabPostInit do? It appends a function you want to a prefab right after all the main prefab function code but right before the return inst?

For example, I wanted to tweak the world prefab, removing the colourcube component to add my own colourcubemanager component. And I used the following in modmain:

AddPrefabPostInit("world", function(inst)          if not GLOBAL.TheNet:IsDedicated() then                    inst:RemoveComponent("colourcube")                    inst:AddComponent("colourcubemanager")          endend)

But it gave me a duplicate entity cpp error. What I used instead was copying the world prefab entirely, changing the name of the component in the line I wanted, and then just:

PrefabFiles = {          "world"}

Which resulted in the other world getting overwritten. And this worked fine.

5) What is the deal with custom colourcubes?

If I put,

day = "images/colour_cubes/mycube_cc.tex"

then the game goes full retard but if I put,

day = resolvefilepath "images/colour_cubes/mycube_cc.tex"

then it works.

Even if I rename the official files to other things inside the official folder and then change the official cube component, it doesn't get it.

Edited by DarkXero

1. Dirty means it has changed and something needs to happen to "clean" it. In case of network variables it means it needs to be send to clients (E.g. server sets health to 1, causing the variable to become "dirty", and in its next network tick it will add health to the variables that are send to the clients)