How to? Because this does nothing.

XirmiX

I tried to get some modding done and learn a bit about lua. So many people are angry for the Winter kill start that I wanted to make a mod, which provides starting items for DST players. First I tried something simple, like three flint to be added. I assumed that what I write is gonna have to be global, because all characters would need them. This is what I wrote in the modmain.lua:

start_inv={	"flint",	"flint",	"flint",}

I'm guessing it needs to be local. But... where? And how do I make this apply to ALL characters without tossing out their special items (if they have any)? And how do I make them be different depending on the seasons? I'm assuming it's something like:

if season = summer and if daytime = day thenstart_inv={"flint" 5,}

But I'm no programming expert, so what the heck do I know? I know how it works, but I don't know how to write it :/

Try adding a condition that only takes place when you want it to take place (e.g. Maxwells intro, age component, maybe there's an event for that?). Starting inventories are player-specific as far as I know.

And how do I do that? Do I write something like:

local SpawnStartItems

Then what?

And how do I do that?

Then what?

oh dear, you were not lying...

local SpawnPrefab = GLOBAL.SpawnPrefab --only need this once per filelocal function SpawnDemo()    for i = 1, NUM_ITEMS do          local item = SpawnPrefab(NAME_ITEM)         item.Transform:SetPosition(GetPlayer():GetPosition()) --simple placement, no offset.    endendif CONDITIONS.START_INV then    SpawnDemo()  --instead, you could put the for-loop in directly    --or maybe add other stuff hereend

The things in caps are tuning variables, you have to declare them at the top or replace them with the numbers needed directly.

I literally just came up with that, no guarantees!

EDIT: Added GLOBAL

EDIT2: Like by DEBUGMAN omg I can't believe! Actually, Simplex liked me before, so this isn't too exciting. I'm popular! ( - :