What are the main points to take in mind before creating similar game as Don't Starve? Data Oriented Design help on this case?

Fiwon

Hello,

I'm a programmer and I'm very curious about how this game was created. Every game has life but the complexity of each thing on this game interacting with everything give me a blow away.

I think its because this is a survival game and the resource management seems to be a main core thinking superficially.

In this game a saw the generation of the map, interactions of living beings/tools/items/everything and resource management as the core. Maybe I'm summarizing a lot...

As I'm seeing now more about the Data Oriented Design and saw the bevy engine a little. Anyone knows if  Data Oriented Design can help on this type of game as this can be considered a infinite game? Or is it something that you don't need to worry about so much and the most important thing is to create the systems, for example?

A last thing is, I'm very curious about the Factorio game system too. But I can search after it haha. Just questioning, because I think this a important thing to take in mind before starting the game development as this can be very difficulty to make changes in the middle of development I think.

Kind Regards,

Felipe Inoue

Just to let here, if someone want to follow some good principles. I question on Factorio forum too:
https://forums.factorio.com/viewtopic.php?f=27&t=109274&p=594447#p594447

They used OOP thinking in performance a lot. That make sense as if you follow any principle but thinking in performance first I think the result will bed good in the final. Also They said that they broke some OOP principle to reach the result. :wilson_curious:

You're looking at this from a developer point of view, but the engine and code is not what made this a success. What made it a success was how it approached players interacting with the premise and imagination. That part of it is a different department than code.