Quick code review for changing the hunger drain speed based on hunger value

Hello DST community. I was hoping for some help with this problem I've encountered. I'm new to character modding but I've come up with what I think is some code that is close to working. I've looked at other character's prefabs and referenced some other mods to try to get this working. What I am currently trying to do is change my character's hunger drain rate depending on the threshold of their hunger value.

Spoiler

local function onhungerchange(inst, data)

if inst.components.hunger.current > 50 then

inst.components.hunger.hungerrate = 50 * TUNING.WILSON_HUNGER_RATE

elseif inst.components.hunger.current < 10 then

inst.components.hunger.hungerrate = 1 * TUNING.WILSON_HUNGER_RATE

inst:ListenForEvent("hungerdelta", onhungerchange)

end

end

The numbers are just for testing purposes (They're not actually going to drain their hunger at 50x the speed). But from this code, what I expect to happen is the game to check if my hunger is above 50, then set the hunger drain rate to 50x. And if the hunger value drops below 10, the hunger drain should return to normal. It doesn't do anything in game though but it also does not crash so I'm not sure where I went wrong. I would much appreciate if any kind user on here would give me some advice. Thank you.

Its not doing anything because unless this function is being called by something else first, the ListenForEvent is never actually started until the function runs. You would want the ListenForEvent in your character's master_postinit instead. Also, less important, you don't need to check current hunger with inst.components.hunger in this case, data.new has the new hunger value stored from the hungerdelta event and you can use that for simplicity's sake.

• Like 1

3 hours ago, Merkyrrie said: