Maxwell rework ideas

I'm relatively new to don't starve, I started around 2 months ago. Almost this whole time I was playing a world with friends, we have 3 people including me and 2 people that join on/off. We've made it a whole 3 years, though since this is everyone's first world, we are taking this very slow - still haven't killed some bosses like fuel weaver or crab king. Our 3 main characters are Wickerbottom (myself), Maxwell and Wormwood/WX78 (character switching) We've had a lot of long winter nights to chat and think about the character's balance and abilities, and came up with some cool things that could be added to Maxwell's repertoire with his rework.

These are all just ideas and I'm no game balancer, so each idea is standalone and I don't intend them all to be included at once. Also I think no one would disagree Maxwell is very underpowered right now, so most of our ideas focus on improving his toolbox.

I definitely think Maxwell should not be changed too drastically and should retain his current role as a resource harvester. He definitely won't be like DS Maxwell anymore since Wanda took that niche. The only resource gatherer apart from Maxwell is Woodie, and he has only a partial role in resource gathering since he is mainly a jack of all trades character.

Here are some cool ideas:

- Maxwell definitely should receive picker clones that can pick grass and twigs. It is so frustrating to spend a whole day picking grass and twigs while there's a Maxwell who is supposed to be the god of resource collection not being able to help at all. I think it would be fine if the clones just dropped the item straight on the ground so you can later pick it up.