attempt to index local 'v' (a string value)

Hey, I need some quick assistance, I'm totally new to this whole for k, v in pairs stuff so bare with me

So i'm trying to lower the deployed space, and placement to numbers so I can plant plants close together

local prefabs =
{
	"pinecone",
	"seeds",
	"pinecone_sapling",
	"acorn",
	"acorn_sapling",
	"marblebean",
	"twiggy_nut",
	"twiggy_nut_sapling",
	"butterfly",
	"planted_flower",
	"dug_grass",
	"dug_sapling",
	"grass",
	"sapling",

}

for _, v in pairs(prefabs) do
	if type(v.min_spacing) ~= "number" or v.min_spacing > 1 then
		v.min_spacing = 0
	end
end

This is what I have, and it simply tells me "attempt to index local 'v' (a string value)" Which I don't understand, why is it counting it as a string?

I'm not sure if it's supposed to be "for k, v" or what but.. regardless it all has the same outcome..

Edited by Lokoluna

I'm not sure how you're getting the spacing but because it's a list it's not the actual the prefabs just the names

so it's only comparing the strings
So instead of using a list it'd be better to covert them as a prefab using 

local prefab = SpawnPrefab(v) 
this get the code from the prefab itself but still using the list

4 hours ago, thomas4846 said:

I'm not sure how you're getting the spacing but because it's a list it's not the actual the prefabs just the names

so it's only comparing the strings
So instead of using a list it'd be better to covert them as a prefab using 

this get the code from the prefab itself but still using the list

So this actually takes I gues you can say, calls the real prefab i'm referencing?

So I will have to make "local prefab = SpawnPrefab(v)" about 12 times? Or I'm not entirely sure what to do wit hthis code you're giving me, Can you explain into further detrail?

for _, v in pairs(prefabs) do
	if type(prefab.min_spacing) ~= "number" or prefab.min_spacing > 1 then
		prefab.min_spacing = 0
	end
end