Modifying an action to allow for picking up rabbits?

Hello I'm a bit new to modding in DST, or modding in general for that matter, but I'm attempting to give my custom character the ability to pickup a rabbit like you would an item (or like you would from a trap for that matter) but I can't figure out how exactly to go about doing that. I've looked through the guideposts and previous threads on the forum, as well as looked through the game files or other mods, but haven't really been able to find anything that helps. From what I've read, it sounds like it could be possible through modifying the PICKUP action to bypass the components.inventoryitem.canbepickedup check but im not sure how to even start doing that, or if that is even the best way to do what I want.
Help would be much appreciated!

As penguin0616 said, it will be quite difficult. With help of mod-commands (the ones from modutil.lua) you might be able to change the action only for your character without overwriting or making a new action.

But if you are new to lua and or modding, you should try to think of an alternative perk, that is easier to create, but also satisfy your needs.

If you still really want to be able to pick up rabbits (and I guesss they also should not run away from you?) I will dig into the code and see how this can be done without overwriting anything.

Thank you two for the advice!

I've already managed to make rabbits not run from my character, but have been obviously struggling with allowing them to be picked up. On the surface it seemed like it wouldn't be that difficult to accomplish, but it seems less so now, oh well you live and you learn. I'll focus on other, easier, perk ideas to get a better grasp of lua and the dst code for now, but if you wouldn't mind figuring out how it could be done it would be much appreciated!

ok, I will look into it when I have some time, guess will doing it over the weekend :)

edit: