change onaccept function inside birdcage prefab

Hi,

i'm trying to make the game not crash when it calls my unmodified copy-pasted version of the its OnGetItem and DigestFood functions. This is the code:

local function DigestFood(inst, food)
--nothing changed
end

local function OnGetItem(inst, giver, item)
--nothing changed
end

AddPrefabPostInit("birdcage", function(inst) inst.components.trader.onaccept = OnGetItem end)

but this is the result:

[string "../mods/monster_meat_nerf/modmain.lua"]:96: attempt to index field 'trader' (a nil value)

I tried to print the content of the components table but nothing came out, so I'm clearly missing something. The ultimate goal of the mod is to make the bird die after eating too much monster meat in a single day.

This is my first time coding in lua and it shows I guess, help please?

that line with trader you posted has no problem. I tested a modmain with only that code:

AddPrefabPostInit("birdcage", function(inst) inst.components.trader.onaccept = function() end end)

and it worked fine (since funciton is empty, nothing happend onaccept)

So you messed up the birdcage somewhere else in your code.
After you found the problem, you should save the old function, unless you want a completely different one.
So do sth like this:

AddPrefabPostInit("birdcage", function(inst)
    local old_onaccept = inst.components.trader.onaccept
    inst.components.trader.onaccept = function(inst, giver, item,...)
        if item.prefab=="monstermeat" then
            --kill bird
        elseif old_onaccept~=nil then
            return old_onaccept(inst,giver,item,...) -- call the old unchanged function otherwise. the "..." will make sure that this still works if the devs add a fourth param to the funciton.
        end
    end
end)

Edited by Serpens

I tried to run your sample code

Spoiler

AddPrefabPostInit("birdcage", function(inst) inst.components.trader.onaccept = function() end end)