Help me, please!

Hi, firstly - It's my first time creating mods and I've never been interested in programming, so I don't know a thing sadly. :wilson_resigned:

So, I tried to do mods for my bf and me, but I cannot do something I would really want in a game:

>(Both) recover their sanity near themselves

>(Both) no sanity loss at the dusk (or smaller), but normal at night

>(for Nick) Gains sanity by drawing on mini signs (+15 or something like that)

>(For Nick) Slower freezes but faster overheat (if it can be done)

>(For Nikola) Slower overheat but faster freezes (if it can be done)

Also, I don't know how to make them have custom inventory (I know, I'm an idiot):

>(For Nick) papyrus and a feather pencil
(Able to craft Mini Sign from the start)

>(For Nikola) Fur Roll and Life-Giving Amulet or Telltale Heart

Thank You Really Much!

nikola.lua

nick.lua

Edited by Enderia

That is a lot of things, especially for someone who has never done something like this before. Check out the newcomer post to get a head-start. It tells you how to search the forums efficiently, where to find the game files and the crash/debug log files, and how to debug your mods.

I'm guessing you mean they gain sanity when they are close to each other.
Put this at the bottom of the master_postinit() function in both character's Lua, after the "if TheWorld.ismastersim" check. Remember to substitute the names!!!

Spoiler

-- Every 1.0 seconds, execute the following function.
inst:DoPeriodicTask(1.0, function()
	-- Do nothing if the player is dead.
	if inst.components.health:IsDead() or inst:HasTag("playerghost") then
		return
	end

-- Store the position of the player in x, y, z variables.
	local x,y,z = inst.Transform:GetWorldPosition()

-- Description of important function, which finds specific entities within a range:
	-- TheSim:FindEntities(x, y, z, radius, mustHaveTags, cantHaveTags, mustHaveOneOfTheseTags)