Mod to prevent player from accidentally eating monster meat

Mrgiovanny

I am very new at modding and trying to search through all the lua files to find and combine something to make the player unable to eat certain items. For example monster meat or rot. During a play, I never eat these items, however, I do accidentally eat them quite a lot (miss clicking when cooking at fire for example). Therefore I would like to develop a mod to prevent eating these and maybe other components as a quality of life adjustment. I can remove the edible part from an item. Unfortunately, this also prevents a pig from eating monster meat --> exacltly what I do not want. 

Anyone who can help me in this venture?

I would suggest creating a custom food group and then throwing the edible food items of your choice in there.
After that you would need to add that custom food group to all creatures (like pigmen) which you would want to still be able to eat them.

I have created a tutorial in which I explain how to do that. (You would just need to skip the part where you would normally add the custom food group to your character, and it should work. :) )

Here's the tutorial.

On 21-2-2019 at 12:34 AM, BraveChicken said:

I would suggest creating a custom food group and then throwing the edible food items of your choice in there.

I could do this, although it looks pretty tough to do that to every creature. I might still have the same problem that my pigmen won't change in to werepigs though. I still don't understand the code. What I made in my modmain.lua is the following

Result of this code: I cannot eat the monster meat anymore. Pigmen can still eat it, but won't transform into werepigs anymore. I suspect it is because the "inst.components.werebeast" part. But I don't know enough of the coding to understand what this does. Any idea?

AddPrefabPostInit("monstermeat", function(inst)