From a indie dev: idea/suggesting for improving lobbying system

pintianz

I'm an indie game developer that has been enjoying The Forge event quite a lot. However, I think the lobby/queuing system of the event can use some improvements to help make the event more enjoyable for everyone.

The three main issues I can identify are, I will try to elaborate each in-depth below:
1. Level discrimination
2. Lack of recourse against AFK player
3. Quickplay player can often join unwelcoming team

-- Level discrimination --
For level discrimination, the phenomenon boils down to an uneven trade-off of player proficiency:
- Forge is a teamwork oriented game.
- Having experience (knowing what to expect and do) is the best way to raise your team’s chance of victory.
- Higher level -> more exposure to gameplay -> higher chance to win -> more EXP.  
- Lower level players do not bring any tangible benefits to the team while higher level player would need to spend effort teaching. 

To remedy this, perhaps Klei could try to introduce positive, tangible reinforcements as seen with WOW's famous well-rested bonus.
For example, for each player below level 20, a 10% exp bonus is applied to the entire party.
- Many high level players play to grind skins and other event specific prizes and this can directly incentivize them to team up with low level players.
- New players will actively attract more experience player and learn faster.
- New players will level faster due to their own exp bonus and shed their low level stigma faster.
- If a hardcore player wishes to exploit this with mules, it could potentially be another source of voluntary revenue for Klei, but possibly a slippery slope.

-- Lack of recourse against AFK player in lobby --
This is a problem because:
- Player have no option to check for AFK players, it takes a lot of effort to move all-non AFK member to a new room. Resulting in much wasted time and frustration and often just end with the party disbanding.