Rabbit won't run away when carrot in inventory

You will need to overwrite/duplicate (ewww) the rabbit brain file (rabbitbrain.lua):

function RabbitBrain:OnStart()
RunAway(self.inst, "scarytoprey", AVOID_PLAYER_DIST, AVOID_PLAYER_STOP),
RunAway(self.inst, "scarytoprey", SEE_PLAYER_DIST, STOP_RUN_DIST, nil, true),
end

and I believe you will need to overwrite/duplicate "runaway.lua" (ewww) or add a custom action that checks the character type. 

On ‎2‎/‎2‎/‎2018 at 5:51 PM, secXsQuared said:

You will need to overwrite/duplicate (ewww) the rabbit brain file (rabbitbrain.lua):

function RabbitBrain:OnStart()
RunAway(self.inst, "scarytoprey", AVOID_PLAYER_DIST, AVOID_PLAYER_STOP),
RunAway(self.inst, "scarytoprey", SEE_PLAYER_DIST, STOP_RUN_DIST, nil, true),
end

and I believe you will need to overwrite/duplicate "runaway.lua" (ewww) or add a custom action that checks the character type. 

that sounds really complicated. I'm afraid I can't do it by myself. I'm just an artist and don't really understand coding correctly :(

8 hours ago, Ray025 said:

that sounds really complicated. I'm afraid I can't do it by myself. I'm just an artist and don't really understand coding correctly :(

Unfortunately, I don't have much time to help. I doubt most people here have time/are willing to write actual code for you. I do recommend that you look into it yourself. It's a mostly(?) enjoyable learning process until the game's APIs start to bite you. Plus, understanding the code helps you debug and update your mod in the future too. :)

this may be able do similar to what you want, put it inside YOURCHAR.lua in the master_postinit

Spoiler

local x, y, z = inst.Transform:GetWorldPosition()
local rabbit = TheSim:FindEntities(x, y, z, 6, { "rabbit"})
inst:DoPeriodicTask(1, function()
	if rabbit and inst.components.inventory:Has("carrot", 1) then
		inst:RemoveTag("scarytoprey")
	else
		inst:AddTag("scarytoprey")
	end
end)

34 minutes ago, SuperDavid said: