Making your own critter [NEED HELP PLEASE]

Since there's no replies yet I'll add my awful attempt at coding that I'm having problems with.

I'm no coder at all, I simply use other mods as a base and change things until they work, so with that being said here's the mod I used as a base: https://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=932975687

and here's my awful attempt at changing the code:

Artemis.zip

My problem that I can't get by right now is with the artemis.lua; I load up the game and start a sever and it pops up with an error saying: '(' expected near return so I go back to the code and try putting one of those in (though I don't understand where it wants it) and I try loading the game up again, then I get a different error that says unexpected symbol near '<eof>' so I try changing things again and I end up getting a different error unexpected symbol near local then it's just back to the first one if I change it, so I'm lost on how to fix it. 

I tried looking around the forums for help on making critters, but there wasn't really anything that I could find, and whenever I try to use the game's scripts (that are moved into a rar/zip now, idk when that happened I haven't played in months) it always makes my game crash to desktop, then I have to get a new data folder from my sister just to be able to play the game again. :/

First of all remove all characters after the MakeDonPetBuild() - no need for spaces, or enters.

Also you should add code inside this function to actual return a diet to the pet "local function standard_diet(prefab) " 

and also close it with an end before the last return, and it should work fine

I didn't really understand what you wanted me to do, and I switched somethings around before I noticed your reply (like changing the SG into the kittykit's SG since I wanted him to behave like one of those) and now I'm getting a different error:

[00:00:41]: [string "scripts/mainfunctions.lua"]:146: Error loading file prefabs/artemis