Custom perks/stats

im new to the modding and character creation, but i have made my first character but dont know how to add custom perks, for example how do i increase the rate of sanity and how fast the character gains it like maxwell, and or make it where if the character is next to another friend, his sanity will go up? thanks

@BUTT3RS

There's really not a simple answer to "how to add custom perks." To add custom perks you first have to figure out what you want the character's perks to be and then code those in.

If you want to make custom character do something like a character already in the game, extract the game files of that character and read their code.

If you want to make a character's sanity go up near another player, you can try using GetClosestInstWithTag(tag, inst, radius) to check for the closest player. You can find more information here:

I hope that helps. I'm still pretty new to this stuff too.

1 hour ago, BigMommaWolf said:

@BUTT3RS

There's really not a simple answer to "how to add custom perks." To add custom perks you first have to figure out what you want the character's perks to be and then code those in.

If you want to make custom character do something like a character already in the game, extract the game files of that character and read their code.

If you want to make a character's sanity go up near another player, you can try using GetClosestInstWithTag(tag, inst, radius) to check for the closest player. You can find more information here:

I hope that helps. I'm still pretty new to this stuff too.

thanks very much i am currently looking into this, i tried finding the sanity stats for maxwell but cannot find how he gains 20 sanity a minute, is there a special way to extract the files or would you possibly know where to find the stats? i tried looking in maxwell.lue files but cannot find anything. thanks again

@BUTT3RS

From the wiki: "Maxwell's Sanity increases by 20 Sanity/min because of his dapper style."