Custom Item - Bedroll

Im trying to make a character with a custom sleeping bag, but i dont know how to make one from scratch and after some effort and several general searches, it seems that i cant simply modify the base item and make it work.

I have already made the character, and gotten the art done, and the character code works, but i can get the sleeping bag coding to no cause a crash after character select due to the base coding appearently calling for information i havent included.

If anyone can help me out and give me a lead on how to start the coding so i make a new type of bedroll/sleeping bag, or what i need to modify from the base coding to make it happy, id appreciate it.

I am new to lua / modding this game so someone else could probably help you with how to properly accomplish this but just looking at the game code here are some things you will probably want to have and need.

You will want to add the following code to your custom character

local function common_init(inst)inst:AddTag("sleepyhead")--rest of your codeend

then for your recipes.lua you will want to add...

Recipe("bedroll_junk", {Ingredient("gears", 1), Ingredient("rope", 1)}, RECIPETABS.SURVIVAL, TECH.SCIENCE_ONE, nil, nil, nil, nil, "sleepyhead")

now you need to go to strings.pot and add

#. STRINGS.RECIPE_DESC.BEDROLL_JUNKmsgctxt "STRINGS.RECIPE_DESC.BEDROLL_JUNK"msgid "Sleep through the night steam punk style."msgstr ""

and in strings.lua ...

BEDROLL_STRAW = "Sleep through the night.",        BEDROLL_FURRY = "Sleep through the night in comfort!",        BEDROLL_JUNK = "Sleep through the night steam punk style."

then in each character speech file but especially your custom character you will want to search for BEDROLL_STRAW and below that add

BEDROLL_JUNK = "For some reason these gears really help my back.",

In bedroll.lua you will need to add to the very bottom like so...