[item coding request] custom book for custom character

MrHazard

hello there, I'm no lua coder,but i make art which means i need some help from  the more experienced folks here with code.

i'd like to give my character a custom book similar to maxwells book, this book will consume Niter and 25 sanity per use to spawn gunpowder right next to the player.

seems simple enough right? well, not for me...

i want it to be based around the waxwelljournal anim files for easy texture swapping.

what do i need this book for?

this(stats are just placeholders):

https://d1zqrvc06emslq.cloudfront.net/media/originals/feedpost/53/68/4b/99946e1fd4e7b33c5d828cfd4efd3c6a.jpg

hope someone can help me, i want to release this character mod soon.

@MrHazard, I'm not very experienced in making characters/prefabs (yet), but I think you could probably just copy most of the code from the existing waxwelljournal prefab, and change just the things you want.

"..\scripts\prefabs\waxwelljournal.lua" contains the original code.

Theoretical example:

Something like this in your modmain.lua to determine the fuel/sanity costs:

GLOBAL.TUNING.YOUR_PREFAB_SANITY_PENALTY = 25GLOBAL.TUNING.YOUR_PREFAB_FUEL_COST = 1

In your custom prefab file ("..\mods\your_mod_name\scripts\prefabs\your_prefab_name.lua):