Why is so difficult to make a server devs?

Hello! I support your games and, in particular, Don't Starve from the beggining.

I don't understand why is so difficult to make a dedicated server that actually works. I was putting +2 hours to make a dedicated with the Steam option (that makes you download a fresh game again as I understand), I only wanted to put Global Positions mod (I make it to work, don't remember how now) and now the caves are "disconected" to the world...

I just saying... I'm not an expert and no need to be. Why devs? Why is so frustrating to make a dedicated server. The steam option doesn't get you ready and is a pain... Like summer.:juggling:

Please, reconsider to put some effort and change this system (I'm aware that people use two different systems to launch a dedicated. Crazyness I say)

It would be great to download the dedicated server from Steam (tools) and have a launcher with world options and mods, etc.

It's really not hard to set up (and mod) a dedicated server. Yes, it's very simplistic without any User interface or anything else that holds your hand, but there are good guides out there to get you going.

I for example am hosting my server without any GUI, so I couldn't use a dedicated server with a launcher or something. So better have a server that is a little more advanced, than having a dedicated server that only works on client machines/servers with graphical interface.

You really don't need to be a dev to set up and run a dedicated server, but you should have some basic knowledge of how to host stuff like this... Otherwise you'd probably run into security and/or performance issues anyways that you didn't know how to manage anyways.
Ofc you can always just but a managed server from a company that takes care of that stuff for you.

Alternatively you can use the client hosted server option, which is very easy to use with a few clicks, and since it doesn't run unattended, there's much less security concerns, etc.