Modding help; Biome-sensitive sanity toll/gain possible?

Hey! I'm just getting into modding, and rn I'm making a custom character with, ya guessed it, custom perks. But!! I think I know how to tackle all but one; I can't for the life of me figure out if making Biome-sensitive sanity toll/gain is possible? My idea is gain when near the "coast" as in within a certain range of the waterfront, and a toll within the forest biome. Does anybdy knnow if that's possible? To be honest I'm unsure if the game even consistently logs which biome you're in once the map has been generated.

It depends.

What do you classify as a biome? Just being on a specific turf? Being in a specific area? What if that area has been dug out and replaced with other turf? Is it still the original biome?

Edited by penguin0616
  • Like 2

Hey! Thanks for the answer! And good point - I think I'm rather flexible with the definition. Ideally it would be the "original" turf if it'd been replaced, but I reckon that the chances the game keeps record of that would be slim to none - can't think of a single pre-existing mechanic it'd be useful for. So, for the sake of pragmaticism let's say the turf itself, player-placed or not. Except if you have a specific definition in mind already? 

On 3/18/2021 at 7:48 PM, 0ct0duck said:

My idea is gain when near the "coast" as in within a certain range of the waterfront,

and a toll within the forest biome.

The second one sounds a bit like the inverse of Walter's perk (sanity gain near a bunch of trees)

The first one... I'm not too sure. Check scripts/worldtiledefs.lua and see if

is_shoreline = true

is something you're looking for.

• Thanks 1

@0ct0duck
I use this code to detect when I'm near shore.  It scans in an 11x11 square around the player (as long as you're in the water), calculating the shortest distance to shore, so long as that distance is bellow 25 units, meaning that the square grid pattern is converted into a circle.

--Checking water depth.